SCOTTISH NATIONAL WAR MEMORIAL
This building was opened on 14th July 1927 as a memorial to the Scottish
dead of the 1st World War 1914-18 by the Prince of Wales (later King Edward
In the Middle Ages St. Mary's Church stood on this site. In 1540 it was
converted into a munition house then demolished in 1755 to make room for
the North Barracks.
The building was improved in 1863 by Robert Billings
to give it a more picturesque appearance.